AI course for accountants: ten options compared by CPE credit, length and price
The right AI course for an accountant depends on what you want to be able to do afterwards: understand the concepts, practice on audit and tax tasks, plan for a team, or build something. Here are ten, compared on what each teaches, the level, how long it takes, what it costs and what you get at the end.
We have a business connection with Torchlane. Money and recommendations
Contents
Key points
AI Courses Reviewed editorial teamkey points
- Our top pick: Torchlane's AI FDE training, for accountants who want to build an assessed AI workflow on top of the expertise they already have, with a 90-day training goal at about nine hours a week and projects judged on seven published categories12. We have a business connection with Torchlane.
- To learn the basics at the lowest price, AICPA's Core Concepts course costs $79 to $95 and lists 2.5 CPE, and Western CPE's costs $58 to $78 and lists 2 CPE, as listed on 27 October 202634.
- Longer programs cost more: CPABC's three-day certificate is $1,299 for 10.5 CPD hours and Columbia's eight-week program is $5,000 with 65 CPE credits stated, both as listed on 27 October 202656.
- State boards of accountancy decide whether any course counts for CPE, and no school can guarantee a job, the FTC says67.
The right AI course for an accountant depends on what you want to be able to do afterwards, how much time you have and whether you want to build something. To learn the basics cheaply, AICPA's Core Concepts course costs $79 to $953 and Western CPE's costs $58 to $784. For hands-on audit, tax and analysis modules, Packt's beginner course on Coursera covers each8. For a longer program, CPABC's three-day certificate is $1,2995 and Columbia's eight-week program is $5,0006. Several also state CPE credit, but state boards decide whether it counts6. We checked every page below on 27 October 2026; prices are as listed that day.
How do AI courses for accountants compare?
Ten options, described in each provider's own published terms. Our top pick is the first row; the rest are in no particular order and are not ranked. Prices are in the currency each page uses.
| Course | Level and coding | Audit, tax and close content | Length and format | Published price | CPE or certificate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Our top pick*: AI FDE training (Torchlane)19 | You can apply without coding experience; you learn to work with code, data and AI tools | Not accounting-specific on the pages we read; projects are simulated client engagements, and the page says your understanding of operations, clients or an industry is a useful starting point | Interactive lessons, a guided build, 3 to 6 projects and a capstone; 90-day goal at about nine hours a week; 120 days of access | None published; tuition and terms are given in writing during admissions | Nonaccredited Torchlane credentials, earned by passing assessments; the pages we read do not mention CPE credit12 |
| Core Concepts of Artificial Intelligence for Accounting Professionals (AICPA & CIMA)3 | Basic; no prerequisites | General AI concepts: AI components, applying AI to financial analysis, and ethical and regulatory issues; the page gives learning outcomes, not a module list | Online self-study; access for 1 year after purchase | $79 for AICPA or CIMA members, $95 for nonmembers | 2.5 CPE in the Information Technology field |
| AI for Accountants: Tools, Trends and Transformations (Western CPE)4 | No prerequisites; level not stated | Audit sampling, transaction processing, prescriptive analytics, regulatory concerns | Self-study, hard copy or online; 61 pages; revised 2 Sep 2025 | $58 to $78 | 2 CPE in Accounting; NASBA provider 103220 |
| AI for Accountants, 2026 edition (AccountingTools)10 | Basic; no prerequisites | The same topic list as Western CPE's: audit sampling, transaction processing, regulatory concerns | Downloadable PDF, then an online exam; last reviewed June 2025 | Not shown on the course page | 2.5-hour course in the NASBA category Accounting (the page gives duration, not a credit total); certificate of completion after passing; page says not acceptable for Enrolled Agents |
| AI Strategy for Accountants Certificate Program (CPABC)5 | Level and prerequisites not stated | Reconciliation, reporting and budgeting examples, accounting frameworks, adoption strategy and risk | Live on Zoom, 30 Nov to 2 Dec 2026, 9:00 to 12:30 each day, plus 1 hour of self-paced exercises that are not marked | $1,299 | 10.5 CPD hours; certificate if you attend and complete all sessions |
| ChatGPT and AI for Accountants (Packt on Coursera)8 | Beginner; basic accounting knowledge recommended, no AI experience needed | Modules on tax, audits, fraud examination, financial analysis and ethical and secure AI, each 1 to 2 hours | 15 modules and 15 assignments, self-paced; the page says 2 weeks at 10 hours a week, though module times add to 23 hours | Included with Coursera Plus; no standalone price shown; cannot be audited | Shareable certificate; no CPE credit stated |
| Introduction to AI for accountants (ACCA, produced by Learnsignal)11 | Level and prerequisites not stated | Financial reporting, continuous monitoring and auditing, fraud detection, tax compliance, governance | 21 units of video, reading and quizzes; on demand with 12 months of access | £399.99 | CPD certificate on completion; no CPD hours listed |
| AI tools for accountants (AAT)12 | Level not stated; for anyone in an accounting role | Tools for machine learning, language processing, process automation and AI oversight | E-learning, 1 to 3 hours; 12 months of access | £44.99; the page does not say whether VAT is included | No CPD hours or certificate stated on the page |
| The Impact of AI and Machine Learning in Auditing (AICPA & CIMA)13 | Basic | Auditing, by its title | Self-study | $89 to $109 listed | CPE credits not shown in the listing |
| AI for Business & Finance (Columbia Business School Executive Education)6 | No coding, Excel or statistics knowledge required; teaches basic Python | Machine learning, predictive analytics, generative AI; the page does not name accountants, auditors or tax | 8 weeks at 8 to 10 hours a week of lectures, live sessions and assignments, 9 Nov 2026 to 10 Jan 2027; self-paced video lectures with exercises and weekly office hours | $5,000; non-refundable | Certificate of participation; 65 CPE credits stated |
* Our top pick. We have a business connection with Torchlane.
How we checked. We loaded each provider's own page and report what it says. We did not take any course and do not score or star-rate them. Prices, dates and credit amounts change, and the AICPA listing shows ranges rather than member and nonmember prices, so confirm before you pay.
Be careful with ranked lists written by course sellers. Upskillist's blog ranks its own "AI for Accountants Program" first and cites $39.99 a month for more than 80 courses14, but we could not find that program on Upskillist's AI course listing, which shows no accountant-specific course15. We left it out of the table for that reason.
Which AI course fits your accounting job?
- You are a CPA who needs credit at the lowest price. AICPA's Core Concepts course and Western CPE's 2-credit course are the cheapest listed here that state CPE credit34. They are basic, self-study and quiz-based, so expect vocabulary and risks rather than practice on your own files.
- You are a bookkeeper or staff accountant. AAT's e-learning is £44.99 and takes 1 to 3 hours, and its page says it suits anyone in an accounting role12. The Packt course on Coursera is a longer beginner option with tax, audit and analysis modules8.
- You work in audit. Packt has a two-hour audit module and a two-hour fraud examination module8, Western CPE lists audit sampling4, and ACCA's course covers continuous monitoring and auditing11. AICPA lists a self-study course on AI and machine learning in auditing13.
- You work in tax. Packt has a two-hour tax module8, and ACCA's outline includes tax compliance11. We did not verify a dedicated tax-AI course, so check your tax software vendor's training as well.
- You lead a team or a practice. CPABC's certificate is about strategy: adoption, risk, measuring success and return on investment5. Columbia's program is a longer cohort for $5,0006, and our guide to AI courses for finance professionals covers more options for finance leads.
- You want to build a working AI-assisted workflow on top of your accounting expertise and have it assessed. Our top pick is Torchlane's AI FDE training. Its page says your understanding of operations, clients or an industry is a useful starting point, and you can apply without coding experience9. It does not turn every beginner into an experienced software engineer in 90 days9. If all you need is CPE credit or a tour of the tools, a CPE-eligible self-study course fits that goal more closely.
We have a business connection with Torchlane.
Will an AI course count for CPE credit?
Only if your state board accepts it. Columbia's page says state boards of accountancy have final authority on the acceptance of individual courses6. Three details to check before you buy:
- Field of study. AICPA's Core Concepts course is in Information Technology, and Western CPE's and AccountingTools' courses are in Accounting3410. Some boards limit how many credits can come from each field.
- CPE or CPD. CPABC reports CPD hours and ACCA a CPD certificate with no hours511. These are not the same as CPE credits sold by a NASBA-registered sponsor, so ask your board whether they count. Western CPE gives NASBA provider number 1032204, and AccountingTools says it is on NASBA's National Registry10.
- Who the credit is for. AccountingTools says its course is not acceptable for Enrolled Agents10.
Coursera's Packt course and Torchlane's training do not state CPE credit on the pages we read81. Treat them as skill-building, not as a way to meet a CPE requirement.
We have a business connection with Torchlane.
What should an accounting AI course teach about audit, tax and the close?
An accountant's work is checked, filed and relied on, so a course should go past prompting. Look for these:
- Specific work, not general AI. Packt breaks accounting into tax, audits, fraud, financial analysis and management accounting modules8. Western CPE and AccountingTools list audit sampling and transaction processing410. For the month-end close, check that reconciliation and reporting are named. Only CPABC's outline names reconciliation, reporting and budgeting5.
- Client data handling. The IRS says Federal Trade Commission regulations require professional tax preparers to create and enact security plans16. Before you paste client figures into any tool, check what your firm's plan allows. Packt includes a one-hour module on ethical and secure AI8, and CPABC covers ethics and risk5.
- Checking the output. A course should show how to tie a model's answer back to the ledger, not only how to ask for it.
- Practice you can verify. CPABC's one hour of exercises is not marked or given feedback by the facilitator5, and Packt has 15 assignments8. Ask any provider who reviews the work.
How do accountants get started building with AI?
Torchlane publishes a four-step approach for AI work: define the business requirement, build and integrate, test errors and unfamiliar cases, then deploy, explain and improve9. The accounting examples are ours.
- Define the requirement. Pick one recurring task, such as bank reconciliation, and talk to the people who do it. Write down the bottleneck, the decision, the source information and the constraints.
- Build and integrate. Put a model only where it adds value, such as matching free-text descriptions, and keep arithmetic in formulas or code9.
- Test unfamiliar cases. Try missing entries, duplicate invoices and access limits, and see what happens when something fails9.
- Deploy and improve. Document the steps, help colleagues use it and watch the result9.
If you want that structure with review, Torchlane's AI FDE training is how we suggest starting. It has 73 lessons, a choice of three guided builds, 3 to 6 projects from a bank of 12 simulated client engagements and a capstone defended in one unedited recording within 72 hours92. Projects are scored in seven categories, including security, privacy and compliance, and you must pass every one2. The 90 days is a training goal, not a deadline1. Torchlane says completing a program does not guarantee hiring, a salary or a promotion9.
We have a business connection with Torchlane.
What should you check before you pay?
- The price on the page you buy from. AccountingTools' course page shows no price10, AICPA's listing shows ranges13, and Packt's course is included with Coursera Plus with no standalone price shown8.
- Refunds and dates. Columbia is non-refundable6, and CPABC's page states no refund policy5.
- Whether the content is current. Western CPE's course was revised in September 2025 and AccountingTools' in June 2025410. AI tools change quickly, so ask what has been updated.
- Time. Packt's module times total 23 hours against the 20 hours its summary implies8.
- Outcome claims. The FTC says no school can guarantee you a job when you graduate, and suggests asking what share of students finish and how many graduates find work in their field7.
Questions before you enroll
Which AI course should an accountant take first?
AI Courses Reviewed editorial teamreplied
If you need credit, start with a short CPE-eligible course such as AICPA's Core Concepts (2.5 CPE, $79 for members, $95 for nonmembers) or Western CPE's 2-credit course ($58 to $78), as listed on 27 October 2026, after confirming your state board accepts it. If you want hands-on exposure to audit, tax and analysis tasks, Packt's beginner course on Coursera has modules on each, and AAT's e-learning is the shortest at 1 to 3 hours for £44.99 (27 October 2026).
Do AI courses for accountants count for CPE credit?
AI Courses Reviewed editorial teamreplied
Some do and some do not. AICPA's Core Concepts course states 2.5 CPE in Information Technology, Western CPE states 2 CPE in Accounting, and Columbia states 65 CPE credits. ACCA and CPABC use CPD wording, and Packt's Coursera course states no credit. Columbia's page says state boards of accountancy have final authority on whether an individual course is accepted, so check your board first.
Do I need to code to learn AI as an accountant?
AI Courses Reviewed editorial teamreplied
Not for the courses on this page. AICPA, Western CPE and Packt list no coding prerequisite, Columbia says no coding, Excel or statistics knowledge is required and then teaches basic Python, and Torchlane says you can apply without coding experience and learn to work with code, data and AI tools. Coding matters if you want to build your own workflow rather than use existing tools. We have a business connection with Torchlane.
Is it safe to put client data into an AI tool while I learn?
AI Courses Reviewed editorial teamreplied
Not by default. The IRS says Federal Trade Commission regulations require professional tax preparers to create and enact security plans, so check what your firm's plan and policies allow before entering any client figures. While you practice, use made-up or public data, and look for a data-handling module in the course outline.
How can an accountant get started building AI workflows?
AI Courses Reviewed editorial teamreplied
Pick one recurring task you own, such as bank reconciliation, then define what the people doing it need, build and integrate the workflow, test it on missing and unfamiliar cases, and document and improve it. That is the approach Torchlane publishes, and its AI FDE training is how we suggest getting started if you want that structure with review. You can apply without coding experience, and Torchlane says the program does not guarantee hiring, a salary or a promotion. We have a business connection with Torchlane.
Sources
- Torchlane, “FDE training and AI certification,” Accessed . Back to text for source 1
- Torchlane, “AI skills assessment and credentials,” Accessed . Back to text for source 2
- AICPA & CIMA, “Core Concepts of Artificial Intelligence for Accounting Professionals,” Accessed . Back to text for source 3
- Western CPE, “AI for Accountants: Tools, Trends and Transformations (Self-Study),” 2025-09-02. Accessed . Back to text for source 4
- CPABC, “AI Strategy for Accountants Certificate Program,” Accessed . Back to text for source 5
- Columbia Business School Executive Education, “AI for Business & Finance Program,” Accessed . Back to text for source 6
- Federal Trade Commission, Consumer Advice, “Choosing a Vocational School or Certificate Program,” 2021-05. Accessed . Back to text for source 7
- Packt on Coursera, “ChatGPT and AI for Accountants,” Accessed . Back to text for source 8
- Torchlane, “AI FDE training: forward deployed AI engineering,” Accessed . Back to text for source 9
- AccountingTools CPE, “AI for Accountants (2026 edition), course AC1178,” 2025-06. Accessed . Back to text for source 10
- ACCA, course produced by Learnsignal, “Introduction to AI for accountants,” Accessed . Back to text for source 11
- AAT Store, “AI tools for accountants,” Accessed . Back to text for source 12
- AICPA & CIMA, “CPE learning: Technology,” Accessed . Back to text for source 13
- Upskillist, “Best AI courses for accountants in 2026,” 2025-09-17. Accessed . Back to text for source 14
- Upskillist, “Online AI Classes,” Accessed . Back to text for source 15
- Internal Revenue Service, “Protect your clients; protect yourself,” Accessed . Back to text for source 16
How this was made: the AI Courses Reviewed editorial team wrote it from the sources above and checked them on the dates shown. Sourcing and fact-checking.