Skip to content

AI course for project managers: seven programs compared by hours, price, PDUs and hands-on work

Most pages that rank for this search sell their own course. We read each provider's own page and compared seven on hours, price, PDUs and whether you build anything.

We have a business connection with Torchlane. Money and recommendations

Contents

Key points

AI Courses Reviewed editorial teamkey points

  1. Our top pick: Torchlane's AI FDE training, for project managers who want to move from using AI assistants to building and delivering AI-assisted workflows on top of the project experience they already have, with a 90-day training goal at about nine hours a week and projects judged on seven published categories123. We have a business connection with Torchlane.
  2. The shortest options are two Coursera courses of about 5 and 9 hours; both let you enroll free but charge for the certificate45.
  3. Of the seven, only Stanford's page states a PDU count: a 12-hour workshop with 12 PDUs at $1,200 live online or $1,550 in person, as listed on 27 October 20266.
  4. Longer programs list their own prices: the University of San Diego's certificate at $2,471 and Northeastern's graduate certificate at $5,250, the only graduate certificate78.
  5. No school can guarantee you a job, the FTC says, so treat any course that implies one with care9.

The right AI course for project managers depends on how many hours you can spend and whether you need PDUs. The shortest are Coursera courses of about 5 and 9 hours45. Stanford's 12-hour workshop lists 12 PDUs at $1,200 live online6. The University of San Diego's four-course certificate lists $2,4717, and Northeastern's graduate certificate lists $5,2508. Seven programs are compared below on format, price, level, hands-on work and credential, using provider pages checked on 27 October 2026.

What should an AI course for project managers teach?

Look for course content tied to project work, not generic prompting.

  • Project artifacts. SkillUp's Coursera course has you build a project charter and a work breakdown structure with generative AI5.
  • Planning and risk. USD's certificate has guided activities applying AI tools to planning, risk, scheduling and communication7.
  • Tools you already use. Coursera's Project Management with AI has modules on Gemini, Copilot and ChatGPT4.
  • Analytics. Northeastern's fourth course is AI-Augmented Project Analytics8.
  • Data rules. Stanford's page warns that some demonstrated AI tools are not approved for Stanford data, a reminder to check your employer's policy before you paste in project information6.

How do AI courses for project managers compare?

Seven programs, described in each provider's own published terms. Our top pick is the first row; the rest are not ranked.

AI courses for project managers compared on format, level, published price, hands-on work and credential, from provider pages checked on 27 October 2026.
ProgramFormat, level and timePublished priceHands-on work, per the pageCredential and credits
Our top pick*: AI FDE training (Torchlane)12Online; apply without coding experience; 90-day training goal at about 9 hours a week, 120 days of accessNone published; tuition and terms are given in writing during admissionsOne of three guided builds, 3 to 6 projects from a bank of 12 simulated client engagements, then a capstone, judged on seven published categories13Two academy-issued, nonaccredited credentials (names provisional); PDUs and academic credit not stated; career preparation, not a guarantee of employment2
Project Management with AI (SkillsBooster Academy, Coursera)4Online, self-paced; beginner; about 5 hours across 7 modulesPage shows "Enroll for free" and "Included with Coursera Plus"; its FAQ says a certificate needs the paid Certificate experienceReady-to-use prompts in each module; no specific projects listedShareable certificate
Generative AI: Unleash Your Project Management Potential (SkillUp, Coursera)5Online, self-paced; intermediate; about 9 hours across 3 modulesFree to enroll; graded assignments and the certificate require the paid Certificate experience; no amount shownBuild a project charter and work breakdown structure with generative AI, plus a final project labShareable certificate
Google Project Management Professional Certificate (Coursera)10Online, self-paced; beginner; 7 courses, about 6 months at 10 hours a week; AI appears in parts of the program, such as communications, meetings and the job-search course, not throughout$49 a month in the US and Canada after a 7-day trial; the page estimates most learners pay under $300Applied learning project and practice assessments; AI modules on charters, risks, communications and meetingsProfessional certificate; page says it qualifies for over 100 hours of project management education, which it ties to preparing for PMI's CAPM
AI-Powered Project Management workshop (Stanford University IT Technology Training)612 hours: six 2-hour live online sessions over three weeks, or two days in person; project managers, team leads and program managers in any industry$1,200 live online; $1,550 in personInteractive workshop; the live online format requires installing the Claude and ChatGPT desktop appsCertificate from Stanford's technology training program (the page names it a Certified AI-Powered Project Manager designation); 12 PDUs, 1.2 CEUs and 12 professional development hours
AI for Project Management (Global Knowledge)11Live virtual; the page says 2 days but lists 9 to 11 Nov and 8 to 10 Dec, 12:00 to 4:30 pm ET; it gives no level, prerequisites or description$1,350 excluding VAT; sessions listed for 9 to 11 November and 8 to 10 December 2026Not stated on the pagePDUs not stated
Project Management with AI Certificate (University of San Diego PCE)7Online, self-paced; four courses of 7 weeks each, 6 to 8 months in order; no prerequisites; two courses listed as coming in 2027$599 per course plus a $75 certificate fee, $2,471 in total; the FAQ lists $2,441Guided activities, cross-industry case studies, written assignments, quizzes and a final project, paper or examProfessional certificate; follows PMI and PMBOK methodology; PDU count not stated; C or better needed in each course
Graduate Certificate in AI-Powered Project Management (Northeastern University)8100% online; four 3-credit courses, 6+ months; a bachelor's degree is required$5,250 total ($438 per credit); 10% discount listed for fall 2026 admitsNot described in detail on the pageGraduate certificate, 12 credits

* Our top pick. We have a business connection with Torchlane.

How we checked. We loaded each provider's own page on 27 October 2026 and report what it says. We took none of the courses and do not score or star-rate them. "Not stated" means the page we read did not say. PMI's own course pages returned an access error (HTTP 403) when we loaded them, including on a second try, so we did not include PMI's catalog; check it directly, along with LinkedIn Learning and Udemy. Prices and dates change often. This guide is about courses and skills, not exam-based certifications, which are a separate decision.

Three patterns stand out. Only Stanford's page states a PDU count among the seven6. The Google certificate is the longest on the page but is a general project management program with AI in only parts of it10. And Northeastern's is the only graduate certificate, with 12 credits8; Google's page describes only a credit recommendation, which is not the same as credit awarded10.

Which AI course fits your situation as a project manager?

  • You want a first look in a weekend. The two Coursera courses take about 5 and 9 hours45. Read the enrollment screen first, because both pages mix "free" with a paid certificate.
  • You are new to project management and want the base plus some AI. The Google certificate is beginner level, with no experience required, and has AI content in only some modules10.
  • You need PDUs and live instruction. Stanford's workshop lists 12 PDUs6. Check that your certifying body accepts them.
  • You want a structured credential that follows PMI methodology. USD's certificate follows PMI and PMBOK methodology and takes 6 to 8 months, but two of its four courses are listed for 20277.
  • You want graduate credit. Northeastern's 12-credit certificate costs the most of the programs with a published price and needs a bachelor's degree8.
  • You want to move from using AI assistants to building AI-assisted workflows for your projects or clients. Our top pick is Torchlane's AI FDE training. Its four-step method, from defining the business requirement to deploying and improving, will read like project phases to a project manager, and its page treats your understanding of operations or clients as a useful starting point1. It offers no PDUs that we could find on its pages, so keep your PDU courses separate.
  • You only want faster status reports and plans. A short tool course covers that in a few hours. Torchlane's program, in which you build applications that are then assessed, is more than that goal needs.

We have a business connection with Torchlane.

Is a short AI course enough for a project manager?

For drafting charters, minutes and status updates, a short course can be enough. The Coursera courses teach exactly those artifacts in 5 to 9 hours45. What they leave open is judgment about when AI output is wrong for your project and who is accountable. The longer programs add assessed work: USD requires a final project, paper or exam and a C or better in every course7. Stanford's page shows the other risk, that tools differ in what your employer allows6.

How do you move from using AI to delivering it?

Pick one recurring project task and take it through the steps below, which follow the method Torchlane publishes for its AI FDE training1.

  1. Define the business requirement. Talk to the people doing the work and identify the bottleneck, the decision, the source information and the constraints1.
  2. Build and integrate. Design the workflow, connect the systems it needs and put models where they add value, with ordinary code for calculations and fixed rules1.
  3. Test errors, access and unfamiliar cases. Write evaluations and check incomplete inputs and permissions1.
  4. Deploy, explain and improve. Help people use it, document decisions and monitor the result1.

Torchlane's assessment treats real personal data in a submission as a critical failure, so practice on invented project data3. If you want that structure with review against published criteria, Torchlane's AI FDE training is how we suggest getting started. It has 73 lessons, 3 guided builds and 12 project options, and it says it does not guarantee employment, clients, promotion or pay1.

We have a business connection with Torchlane.

What should you ask before you pay?

  • What is the real total? USD's page lists $2,471 in one place and $2,441 in another, and two of its courses are marked as coming later7. Coursera's pages show free enrollment but a paid certificate45.
  • Will your credits count? Stanford lists 12 PDUs; USD does not state a number67. Confirm with PMI or your employer before you rely on any of them.
  • What does an outcome claim count? The FTC says no school can guarantee you a job and suggests asking what share of graduates find jobs in their field9.

We have a business connection with Torchlane.

Weighing a different function? Our guide to AI courses for finance professionals covers that one.

Questions before you enroll

Is there a free AI course for project managers?

AI Courses Reviewed editorial teamreplied

Two Coursera courses let you enroll free: SkillsBooster Academy's Project Management with AI (about 5 hours, beginner) and SkillUp's Generative AI: Unleash Your Project Management Potential (about 9 hours, intermediate). Both pages say a certificate or graded work requires the paid Certificate experience. PMI also lists AI courses, but its pages would not load for us, so check its catalog for current prices and PDUs.

Do AI courses for project managers give PDUs?

AI Courses Reviewed editorial teamreplied

Some do. Stanford's AI-Powered Project Management workshop lists 12 PDUs, 1.2 CEUs and 12 professional development hours for 12 hours of training. The University of San Diego's page says its certificate suits people seeking PDUs but does not state a number. The Coursera pages we read mention no PDUs, and Torchlane's pages state no PDU count. Confirm with PMI or your certifying body that any credits count before you pay. We have a business connection with Torchlane.

Do I need technical skills to take an AI course as a project manager?

AI Courses Reviewed editorial teamreplied

Not for the tool-use courses: Coursera's beginner course covers Gemini, Copilot and ChatGPT, and USD lists no prerequisites. Torchlane's AI FDE training goes further. It says you can apply without coding experience and that you will learn to work with code, so expect more technical work than in a prompting course. We have a business connection with Torchlane.

Will an AI course get me a promotion or a new job?

AI Courses Reviewed editorial teamreplied

No course can promise that. The FTC says no school can guarantee you a job. Torchlane says its program does not guarantee employment, clients, promotion or pay. We have a business connection with Torchlane.

Sources

  1. Torchlane, “AI FDE training: forward deployed AI engineering,” Accessed . Back to text for source 1
  2. Torchlane, “FDE training and AI certification,” Accessed . Back to text for source 2
  3. Torchlane, “AI skills assessment and credentials,” Accessed . Back to text for source 3
  4. SkillsBooster Academy, on Coursera, “Project Management with AI,” Accessed . Back to text for source 4
  5. SkillUp, on Coursera, “Generative AI: Unleash Your Project Management Potential,” Accessed . Back to text for source 5
  6. Stanford University IT, Technology Training, “AI-Powered Project Management: Certificate Interactive Workshop (ITS-2069),” Accessed . Back to text for source 6
  7. University of San Diego, Professional and Continuing Education, “Project Management with AI Certificate,” Accessed . Back to text for source 7
  8. Northeastern University College of Professional Studies, “Online Graduate Certificate in AI-Powered Project Management,” Accessed . Back to text for source 8
  9. Federal Trade Commission, Consumer Advice, “Choosing a Vocational School or Certificate Program,” 2021-05. Accessed . Back to text for source 9
  10. Google, on Coursera, “Google Project Management Professional Certificate,” Accessed . Back to text for source 10
  11. Global Knowledge, “AI for Project Management (GK831252),” Accessed . Back to text for source 11

How this was made: the AI Courses Reviewed editorial team wrote it from the sources above and checked them on the dates shown. Sourcing and fact-checking.